From staff reports
State dog wardens will conduct dog license and rabies vaccination checks in Venango and Crawford counties this month.
Pennsylvania law requires all dogs 3 months and older to be licensed by Jan. 1 of each year. The fee is $6.50 for each spayed or neutered dog and $8.50 for other dogs.
All dogs and non-feral cats 3 months of age and older must also be vaccinated against rabies. Booster vaccinations must be administered periodically to maintain lifelong immunity.
Violators may be cited with a maximum fine of $300 per violation plus court costs.
Dog wardens drive vehicles and wear uniforms labeled with “Pennsylvania Dog Law Enforcement Warden” in a keystone with a state seal. They wear a badge and state identification.
Wardens will request proof of licensure and proof of rabies vaccination. They will leave written notice for someone who is not home, or does not answer the door.